Students’ gothic work at the end of the 8 week course



So last week, the students chose one scary piece of paper or card from my stash.  I’ve been warning them that there’s nothing scarier than a blank piece of good quality paper – especially when you only have one piece of it – how many times have I ruled it up, marked it out, done all the prep, started lettering and in the very first word or line something goes horribly wrong!

Anyway, they all did a great job and, more importantly, they all critiqued themselves and knew what they’d done wrong, or could do better or how they’d do it differently.  I’m not going to say anything here as we discussed it in the lesson.  I wish this course could run for another couple of weeks, I think we could really tidy up and improve these final creations but in I have 2 weeks off then my italic course starts.

First up, Marion’s piece

8Marion

 

This is Josette’s and I have to say that I love, love, love her quote and I shall possibly be stealing it! Did you make it up Josette or do I have to ask permission from someone else?  

8Josette

 

And Christine… she pencilled it first then was too scared to ink it… no I’ve never done that before 😉

8Christine

 

This is Mark’s piece, he and his wife Marionne bought every colour foil they could find after the gilding lesson and used it!  The card is bluish but you can’t really tell from the pic.  You also can’t really see the high shine of the blue foil which is down to my rubbish picture taking skills. Sorry Mark!

8Mark

 

This is Vicky’s, done in her sketchbook and not on the card. Finally, something that’s not just practice  eh Vicky?!

8Vicky1

 

And the last 2 pieces are Marionne’s.  I think she’s got the lettering bug!  We looked back at her practice lettering and the ‘L’ in Lord did start off life as an ‘L’ but she got a bit carried away with the final piece!  One thing I will say now though, which I didn’t notice on Thursday is that all the flourishes of the L in Lord, p in shepherd and b in be, all just about follow the same diagonal line and balance the lettering.

8Marionne1

 

And Marionne’s final piece.  I love the shading on the flowers and the way she’s laid out the lettering.  

8Marionne2

 

 

 

 

 

About Helen

The plan was to leave Tripoli in 2012, head home to Malta and set up a calligraphy business but it's all happened a bit quicker!
This entry was posted in Calligraphy, Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

